University of Minnesota Morris
Home » One Stop Student Services » Criteria for Awarding Funds

Criteria for Awarding Funds

Criteria for Awarding Federal, State, and Institutional Financial Aid Funds

Financial Aid is awarded based on your financial need and/or the eligibility criteria of scholarship, grant, loan and student employment programs. The Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and financial need is determined by federal methodology based on the information you provided on the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The EFC determines what you/your parent(s) can reasonably be expected to pay toward your educational costs. The University of Minnesota, Morris will use your EFC to determine financial need and the eligibility for financial aid based on federal, state and institutional formulas, criteria, policy, regulations, and the availability of funds under the direction of the University of Minnesota administration.

Morris Cost of Attendance (COA)
- Expected Family Contribution (EFC)
= Financial Need

Morris Cost of Education includes:

  • tuition;
  • student services fees;
  • housing (double occupancy); and
  • meal plan (19 meals);

Indirect Cost

  • books;
  • transportation;
  • personal and miscellaneous; and
  • loan fees.